Show reviews that mention
home house ryan home homes ryan issues people quality water construction
Filter review

Poor Quality

2.2
Details
I am finding as each month passes, that there are a number of areas where Ryan Homes cut cost, leading to a poorly constructed home and very poor craftsmanship. There are a number of repairs that I am doing, and I am only three years into my home. The unfortunate part is that many of my neighbors are having similar issues and there has been no contact from the president, who I have emailed and called the office to speak with several times!
View full review
ID
#810265 Review #810265 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, District Of Columbia
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
1.0
Details
Bought townhome in 2015. Built in 1996. All materials used are the cheapest. Replaced all electrical outlets and switches. Switches were not grounded. Extra wall switches installed that are not connected to anything. Of course, the county signed off on all this...
View full review
ID
#809425 Review #809425 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Richmond, Virginia
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$25000
Preferred solution
Too late for me
I've been in my Ryan home since Jan 2014. I decided to get gas heat instead of electric all through the house. It has been the worst experience. They need a better setup system for the gas furnace so that the condensation that has to leak doesn't freeze. When that...
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1112170

We just went and looked at one of there "move in ready" homes. The floor plan was awesome.

They got that right. As far as the craftsmanship of the home itself; total ***. Looks good from far away and then when you go in for a closer look at detail, etc, you WILL notice major errors with fit and finish. This includes shoddy drywall work/finishing, corner beads, seams.

The worst part is the finish carpentry, i.e. Baseboards, window and door casings. What really got me was most of the doors in the house wouldn't even close. And to top it off the staircase railing and tie ins to baseboards was the worst I've seen.

I can go on and on... These are not fit for investment; more like money pits.

Not cool but I guess there are suckers born every minute to buy these which is really a shame. Definetly won't be supporting their business model of cutting corners, using bottom of the barrel materials, site management, workers and tradesmen.

ID
#790307 Review #790307 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Richmond, Virginia
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality
2.7
Details
Was sold LVT flooring and received vinyl plank, an inferior product. They refused to replace or refund $ and also acknowledged others have complained about same issue. The blow ball used to test waste, water lines, etc was never removed resulting in a flood on 1st...
View full review
ID
#779732 Review #779732 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Durham, North Carolina
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality

55 or Better

2.2
Details
Ryan Homes better be careful how they advertise 55 or better communities. They may may have law suit on their hands. There are many residents in or community that are NOT 55 or older. One unit was handled by Howard County and the county put a resident in a unit knowing full well that there was an under-aged chid living there because I informed the County employee myself in the presence of another unit owner. I have to enter at least 80 words so I will say how disgusted I have been and continue to be about the extremely poor way the actual sales experience was handled.
View full review
ID
#769812 Review #769812 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ashburn, Virginia
Pros
  • Location
Cons
  • Ability to make small chnages
  • Sales experience
  • Lack of actions taken to correct issues after contruction
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$9000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
1.0
Details
I am continually getting more and more pissed off at the way that the roof was put onto my home 11 years ago. We are in the midst of quite the wind storm and for the 6th time in the last 8 years we are losing shingles. I have had to have my insurance here each time...
View full review
ID
#767946 Review #767946 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Webster, New York
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Ryan Home's Lot Issue

1.0
Details
This is our second major issue through the home purchase of a Ryan home; the previous issue we met half way with the division manager (who is now replaced). This last weekend, we were called by the sales representatives at May's Quarter; when we went to meet them in person, we were simply told that our lot we selectively chose was now too small to build our home on. We would have to choose a new lot from an inventory of sub-par lots which "they" deemed "similar". Keep in mind, NONE of these lots offered the wooded back for privacy, were located on a street that wouldn't see much traffic, and allowed for a walkout basement. Now, they knew of this issue for a couple of weeks, but chose to tell us a week before Christmas. We decided o try and meet with the new division danager, hoping he would apply friendly and sound business practice by fully admitting to Ryan Home's mistake and offering a new lot that WE deemed commensurate with our chosen lot, with little to no additional cost. What we received was the opposite. First, over the course of an entire business day, I had received NO reply email or call to my email and two voicemails (one call I was directed to Voicemail upon the second ring), not even t tell me he had received my message and was working on it. Upon no acknowledgment of our messages, we went to the offices ad upon entering the Ryan Home's office, we were greeted with scorn and disrespect by the new division manager. We were talked down to in a snide and rude manner virtually the entire meeting and were once again told we were confined to the sub-par lots; we could choose a commensurate lot but would likely be looking at an additional $30K-$40K! I have NEVER come across a company that says, "Sorry, we had made two critical errors/mistakes in your process, you please take the brunt of our mistake". I can understand the "new" division manager being in a tough spot as the new guy, but at the very least, we could have been replied to or greeted with "business etiquette" and respect having been put through the ringer two times vice what we received. Now we're in a touch spot, because the community seems great, and my family (particularly my 7 year old daughter) is in love with the model home, however, I have a hard time to be on the receiving end of such disrespect as a customer.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1082408

Unfortunatley, we are unable to identify you please contact us at Customer Care at 877-550-**** so that we can review your situation.

ID
#756048 Review #756048 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Cons
  • No ownership of mistakes
  • Sales people lied
  • Failure to follow through
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
I would like for the company to admit to their mistake and jarring us around twice and allow us to choose a lot WE feel is a commensurate compared to our initial selection at little or no additional cost.

Ryan Homes House Construction Review

1.0
Details
Terrible!!! Don't buy these homes..you'll be sorry! Very cheaply built! They build your house with the cheapest products they can get! It's a money pit! Run!!
View full review
ID
#746590 Review #746590 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Miamisburg, Ohio
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality

No Responsiblity fossr Latent Defect

My husband and brother in law went to put in my master bath gutted for 8 ddyears because the drain for the bathtub was so messed up that the Ryan Rep was out a few years ago and said that it was normal from seeing it from the top of the floor. After my husband and brother in law tore *** in my family room to reach the guts of the drain for the tub and found that the plumbing was not up to code and messed up (a latent defect that you could not see and my brother in law is a plumber) my husband called Ryan. He got them them to text him after he sent pictures of the problem them and they said since it was out of warrant it was not their problem!! This is not the only problem, we have have had leaky windows, which my husband has fixed, and we replaced all of our windows, our powder room toilet arswhen my husband went to redo it found that the the floor was rotted and had to fix it and you could not tell it until the toilet was removed. This after 10 years!! We now have nail pops galore coming out and our house was built in 1997 in Amyclae East in Harford, County Maryland. I will NEVER buy another Ryan Home again! I came from a custom built home which was smaller and now am sorry that I bought a Ryan home. NEVER again!!!!
View full review
ID
#743535 Review #743535 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Arlington, Virginia
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Latent defect not obviosly seen from top of removal of bathtub which leaked and Ryan had come out when tub had been removed

Ryan Homes - House Construction Review from Smithfield, Virginia

1.2
Details
Ryan Homes - House Construction Review from Smithfield, Virginia
Ryan Homes - House Construction Review from Smithfield, Virginia
Im a first time home owner, yes im very pissed i haven had the moment to enjoy this house my drive way is a mess i was told it dosent come with a warrent so its gonna stay my cabnets are falling apart my inside bannister is crooked the put caulking to make it look like its gixed i hsd over 90 things fix but not the correct way only to there satisfaction when its not tjere home my grass was put down dried an burned Gearld promised me that my drive way an grass would be fixed along with the inside problems ihad to buy a ac for my daughter room i was told two diffrent times to close the vents realy in a new house know she needs a heater yes its coldas *** in her room, im so discusted,with this builder i have so many pictures an vidios cant put them all up,did i metion my yard holds lots of big water puddles yup you csn swim in them
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1093107

Spell Check?

ID
#742139 Review #742139 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Smithfield, Virginia
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Bad quality

The WORST Home I've Ever Purchases

I settled on my new town-home on 30-June-2015. I should've KNOWN then there would be LOTS of PROBLEMS as the property was scheduled for settlement and had to be off the Ryan Homes books by the end of the month. I have had issue, after issue, after issue.... Now that I resided in the home for 4 months I am now experiencing a RODENT problem. I had the wrong size deck installed, broken cabinet doors, tub drainage issue where water poured in the kitchen area on my hardwood flooring and ruined a kitchen chairs, missing mortar behind the front downspout, HUGH gap between the utility closet and the threshold step, etc.... All i can say is buyer beware!!! As a side note, a home inspection was preformed and these issues where not included with the other MANY issues the inspector found....
View full review
ID
#741046 Review #741046 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ashburn, Virginia
Reason of review
Bad quality

Bad plumbing work-even worst service

3.0
Details
This would be the THIRD time that I have the same issue of my sinks flooding over due to someone taking a bath upstairs of just washing up. The sinks would flood over, but before that, my laundry room would get flooded first because it's the lowest point...that in turn leaks down to my basement causing wood and floors to accumulate moisture. I called services and they sent a contractor over and all he did was bang on a few pipes and plunge the *** out of the sink...and call it fixed. It happened again the couple of weeks later....called services and they had a contractor called me, I told him the issue....he sent a different company over. Guy did the same thing....flush some water down...bang on a few pipes and plunge the sink. What the ***? I could have done that! I don't need so called plumbers to do that. They didn't fix the problem, they kicked the can down the road. I've only been in this house less than 3 freaking months and I'm feeling like I'm renting from a slum lord instead of enjoying a brand new home. There were issues from the start of the build, but I've never imagined it being this bad. Anyone knows if I can take legal actions to protect myself? I'm afraid that there will be damage to my floors in the basement and it's going to pop up a few months or years down the road. If anyone knows of any class actions pending or anything related? I'm thinking about consulting with my lawyer if this happens again. Thank.
View full review
ID
#740610 Review #740610 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rochester, New York
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Pros
  • Sales people
  • Floor plans
Cons
  • Too many little things that adds up to one large disatisfaction
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
1.0
Details
Ryan Homes - Poor Response from Warranty and Poor workmanship
Ryan Homes - Poor Response from Warranty and Poor workmanship
Ryan Homes - Poor Response from Warranty and Poor workmanship
Ryan Homes - Poor Response from Warranty and Poor workmanship
Ryan Homes - Poor Response from Warranty and Poor workmanship
Ryan Homes - Poor Response from Warranty and Poor workmanship
I have been trying to get my first floor tile repaired since April, William Ryan has used cheap labor to do the tile work in my home, I paid almost $11,000 for the tile on my first floor, it is missing grout throughout and floor is stained, the bathroom wlla tiles look...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1179170

William Ryan Homes is not Ryan Homes. Probably should move your review.

View more comments
ID
#737275 Review #737275 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Riverview, Florida
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Cons
  • Failure to follow through
  • Rush job that was done
  • Thw way they handle the warranty issues
Reason of review
Warranty issue
Loss
$15000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
After reading some reviews on the homes, I'm hoping they go against it and actually build one *** of a house for me. We had a delayed start - was then suppose to be done around Dec 16, then I called to lock a rate and was told I cant do a 45 day yet because its Dec...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1092324

Having similar problem with Ryan Homes in Smyrna DE. It appears the developer is holding up the project by not adhering to permit requirements.

Was given a December date, then Feb, then early April now only to be told they have no idea!!

Unfortunately the deposit has been made and they have a clause in the agreement that states they have 2 years to complete. I'm contacting an attorney to see what my options are.

View more comments
ID
#735184 Review #735184 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lancaster, New York
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Pros
  • Location
  • Look of the home and layout
  • Floor plans
Cons
  • No ownership of delays
  • Customer service
  • Dealing with upper management
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$3500
Preferred solution
There is no solution - Ill lose even more money since rates are going up and I cant lock without paying even more $$$$. What I want? Better movement on the house - from delays $3500 out of pocket.... and it sounds like there will be more
So, we are sitting in a hotel and Ryan Homes was VERY confident with the 90 day build time, in fact so much so that they thought it would be a week early. Well, we have now extended our hotel stay twice, adding 3 weeks on to our bills and storage costs, and we still...
View full review
ID
#735176 Review #735176 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
Service
Ryan Homes House Construction
Reason of review
Poor customer service